top of page

iHeart Radio Gets Surged!



Last week I visited the iHeart Radio studio in New York City and it was AMAZING!


During "The Summer of Radio" on The Basement Surge, I interviewed a bunch of radio DJ's to talk about the radio business and their careers thus far. It was part of my initiative to bring on guests who offer more value in their story to the audience.


With the age of digital media upon us with everything at our fingertips and everyone and their mother thinking they can just buy a microphone and become a podcaster or radio host, I wanted to show people it still takes hard work and dedication to become the "Cubby" or "Elvis Duran" of this generation or the next.


With the rise of podcasts during the pandemic, it seems that radio has taken a back seat. But that is far from the truth, iHeart Radio has evolved and adapted to the world of digital media. Incorporating more video, live shows and audience interaction on socials, iHeart continues to up the game. But there are still loyalists who love the audio only aspect of radio, and that is totally understandable. Besides...the DJ's didn't get into radio to be on TV or have a camera in their faces 24/7. They got into it because of the love of the medium.


And I learned all that first hand as I made my way to the iHeart studio this past week. Walking the streets of Manhattan, I literally had no idea what to expect. And walking in the buildings lobby, you would never know iHeart Radio is in that building. But once you get off that elevator, your world turns red.


There is literally nothing in this hall but you and the red walls. I waited here for Producer Jamie to come get me for a couple minutes because I was early, so I whipped out my phone and did what I do. I made some videos for socials and took a bunch of pictures.



"But once you get off that elevator, your world turns red."



As I'm moving around the hall taking pictures, looking like a fool, I turned around and Cubby and Producer Jamie walked up and opened the door. I was surprised Cubby came and greeted me because I was just expecting Producer Jamie, so I think I was at a loss for words but I tried to recover quick. I shook Cubby's hand and got a hug from Producer Jamie. "Yeah, she's a hugger." Cubby said.


For about the next fifteen minutes Cubby and Jamie gave me the tour of the iHeart Studio and let me tell you...it was better than the basement.


They brought me upstairs to the famous hallway! I think a lot of people think this hallway is just full of lights. But you would be wrong. As you walk through, the hallway recognizes you and the lights turn red. And as you make you way through, with each step, it plays music from every station on the iHeart Radio brand. It was so cool!


"Cubby and Jamie gave me the tour of the iHeart Studio and let me tell you...it was better than the basement. "


They showed me around the floor which was just a private stage area for performaces from special guests with theater seating.


After the magic hallway, we went back downstairs to the floor with all the studios. And this whole time Cubby and Producer Jamie have been telling me little things about the studio and joking around, I think I was quiet only because I was soaking it all in. It was the first time I had been in such a huge studio where all these iconic DJ's work daily, and walking through all I could think of is this is where I want The Basement Surge to be one day.


Walking on the floor with all the studios was awesome! All of the rooms with the various studios for stations were in the center of the building and the desks for the rest of the staff borders the outside. There were some studios that were small that were used for privacy or to cut promos but then you had studios like Elvis Duran.


During my tour, Elvis was doing his show with Skeery Jones, Danielle Monaro, Gandhi and let me tell you. To be that close to the production of that show while it was happening was AMAZING. I had grown up here in Brooklyn, NY and listened to Elvis Duran and The Z Morning Zoo every morning, to me, these people were celebrities. Cubby and Christine included.


We made our way back to Cubby's studio and I met Christine. She was genuinely happy to meet me and such a great person to talk to. She asked me a bunch of questions about Surge and my personal life. She is just as nice as she is on the radio.


One of the first things I asked to do when we walked in the studio was to check out what Cubby was working with. The control center, the heart...the board. It had a million different sliders and knobs, I couldn't imagine what each of them were assigned to but I'm sure they were important. Cubby explained the workflow and the programs he used to run the show and, again, all I could think of is I need this stuff for Surge!


So I got behind the console and felt the power. It's something I can't describe. Being at the helm with all that tech lit a fire under me.




Cubby, Christine and Jamie had all been so supportive of me and The Basement Surge over the past couple months. I was afraid it was only the public persona I was seeing. But meeting them, let me tell you, these people are genuinely great people. From the second I met them it was like we were friends for years with the jokes and conversations and for that I truly appreciate what they did that day for me.


When you see the things I seen at the iHeart Radio studio it lights a fire. It makes you want to be better at what you're creating. It made me want to level up The Basement Surge. How? Who knows. I'm sure it'll come to me one day as I'm doing dishes or bringing the kids to school. But you can count on one thing...this is only the beginning.


You can listen to The Cubby & Christine Morning Show on 106.7 LiteFM every morning from 6am to 10am ON THE RADIO or on the iHeart Radio app. Tell them John from The Basement Surge sent ya!



Comments


bottom of page